FA dismissal: Edward Lord will still lead the way in UK sport

Letter of support which appeared in the Daily Telegraph on 23 September 2014 following my removal from the FA Inclusion Advisory Board. My thanks go to all those who signed it. 

SIR – Having known and worked with Edward Lord, the inclusion adviser dismissed by the Football Association last week, we are surprised by the FA’s statement announcing his departure. Without taking sides in the dispute, we believe the statement describes a character that we simply don’t recognise.

In our experience Mr Lord is a capable, professional, and collegial board member, and an inspiring advocate for equality and social inclusion, whose public service has been recognised at the highest level.

As group chairman of the Amateur Swimming Association – representing England’s largest participation sport – and through his continuing involvement in football, we are certain he will still lead the way in UK sport by speaking out for those who cannot speak up for themselves.

George Dorling
Chairman, London Football Association

Sir Stephen Bubb
Chairman, Social Investment Business

Lord Dholakia OBE PC DL (Lib Dem)

The Rev Canon Mark Oakley
Chancellor, St Paul’s Cathedral

Rabbi Dr Deborah Kahn Harris
Principal, Leo Baeck College

Rachel Beadle
Former Chair, The Pride Trust

Cllr Ruth Cadbury (Lab)
Former Deputy Chair, Improvement & Innovation Board, Local Government Association

Lynne Featherstone MP (Lib Dem)

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Lab)

Cllr Peter Fleming (Con)
Leader, Sevenoaks District Council
Chairman, Improvement & Innovation Board, Local Government Association

Ed Fordham
Chair, LGBT+ Lib Dems

Alderman Tim Hailes JP
Elected Member, City of London Corporation

Claire Harvey
Ambassador, LGBT Sports Charter

Colm Howard-Lloyd
Chairman, LGBTory

Cllr Peter John (Lab)
Leader, London Borough of Southwark

Simon Johnson
Non-Executive Director, Amateur Swimming Association

Dan Large
Former Campaign Director, Freedom to Marry

Mark MacGregor
Former Chief Executive, The Conservative Party

Sir Nick Partridge OBE
Former Chief Executive, The Terrence Higgins Trust

Mayor Jules Pipe CBE (Lab)
Chair, London Councils

Cllr Jill Shortland OBE (Lib Dem)
Former Leader, Somerset County Council
Vice Chair, Improvement & Innovation Board, Local Government Association

Terry Stacy MBE JP
Former Leader, London Borough of Islington

Richard Stephenson
Former President of the National Conservative Convention

Jo Swinson MP (Lib Dem)

Mayor Dorothy Thornhill MBE (Lib Dem)

Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson (Lib Dem)
Vice Chair, Local Government Association

Cllr Jess Webb (Lab)
Former Speaker, London Borough of Hackney

Samuel West
Chair, National Campaign for the Arts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s